Rockin’ Rooibos

This week at Cosy HQ I want to shout about Rooibos tea.   I’ve been drinking a lot of it recently – It’s super yummy and it’s sooo good for you! Cosy Organic Rooibos and Vanilla bags are unbleached (bleach, eeeugh!)  and are lighter than other Rooibos’s that I’ve tried.  The vanilla adds just the right amount of sweetness, balancing the natural earthy flavours of the tea perfectly. 

I like my Rooibos steeped in water for about 5 minutes, no milk, just black (or red) to get the most out of the flavour.  Roobois is really crammed with anti-carcinogenic, anti-mutagenic and anti inflammatory goodness, it’s super great for your skin, and has even been known to make your hair grow quicker and healthier too.  Plus it’s caffeine free, so it makes a great bedtime drink!

However.. as much as we like Rooibos by the cup here, we’ve also got a little into baking and are enjoying it by the plate! Check out this fab tea bread I knocked up last week….

Vegan Rooibos and Vanilla Tea Bread

250g/9oz plain flour
100g/3.5oz demerara sugar
85ml /3floz olive oil
1 heaped tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 banana
225ml/8floz  water
3 Cosy Organic Rooibos and Vanilla teabags
1tsp Sweetbird Vanilla syrup or vanilla essence.
1/2 tsp chai garam masala
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt 

Steep three Cosy Organic Rooibos teabags with Vanilla for 10 minutes in 225ml boiling water.  Put to one side.

Sieve flour, salt and bicarb into a bowl.  Add the sugar and stir.

Mash the banana or blend with a hand blender briefly (for better results).

Add the oil to the banana, and then mix into the dry ingredients. 

Mix into a dough, then gradually add tea and stir well.

Fold the vanilla, garam masala and cinnamon into the mixture, then bake in the oven on Gas mark 4/175C/350F for 50 mins. 

Sit back, grab a cup of tea and some knitting, relax!

Want to win yourself 6 boxes of Cosy Organic Rooibos with Vanilla? Comment on this post and we’ll pick 3 winners at random.. (and while you’re at it, like our facebook and follow our twitter if you please.)

Offer closes on Thursday 10th November, 11.59pm GMT

18 responses to “Rockin’ Rooibos

  1. Wow! I had no idea about the benefits of Rooibos tea (nor do I have a clue on the correct pronunciation!!!). Hoping to snag some! : )

  2. I love rooibos and the tea bread sounds delicious, I’d love to win some so I can give it a try!!

  3. My best friend introduced me to the wonders of Roobios tea when she was pregnant with my little godson William (now 2!!) and we’re now both big fans. If I win the freebies I promise to share with her as a thank you! I’m a big drinker of the Cosy Camomile tea but am always open to being won over to a new favourite flavour 😉

  4. I’ve been a Redbush convert for a while now but never tried it with vanilla, it sounds lovely. I’ll definitely be making that tea bread if I win!

  5. Looks great and it’s vegan too!I’m going to post a link on the Cake Liberation Front Facebook to this. We have a recipe on our recipe blog for orange and pecan teabread which uses rooibos too so these teabags would be great in that as well!
    http://cakeliberationfrontrecipes.blogspot.com/2011/03/orange-and-pecan-tea-bread.html

  6. Wow I love rooibos tea, and I love making tea bread (have even made them with chai teabags before)- making it with rooibos tea sounds amazing.

  7. I’m liking the sound of this tea, and the teabread looks delish!! Tea and cake – always a winner for me 😉

  8. I’ve made a cake with Rooibos tea before, would love to try this version!

  9. i could just about smell the rooibos and vanilla tea while i read as well as learning.FAB!id luv to win it and try it,it would make it taste all the sweeter!:)

  10. Everything stops for a delicious cup of Cosy Organic Rooibos with Vanilla tea 🙂

  11. This sounds like my cup of tea ! Ideal for any time of day . Mmmmm !

    Thanks

    x

  12. I love vanilla tea

  13. I would love to try some. I have tried some of the other roobois makes. The cake looks yummy too !

  14. Tracey Belcher

    I love vanilla and would love to try this. I have not tried any on the roobois to be honest but am really eager to now! liking FB and following on Twitter now as @tabbaz123. Thanks for the chance x

    • Hi Tracy, thanks for your support! I’m sorry to say that we announced the winners for this competition in December! However there will be more tea competitions, so keep an eye on the blog and our twitter feed to get involved!